Slightly less awesome than awesomeness itself

Alright, so after a small break I went ahead and got coding again. I promised the next update would have mobs, and a bigger map. 

The bigger map is done, I resized it from 200×200 tiles to 500×500. Not that big of a change, but that’s still over twice the map size before.

To increase the map size even further in the future, I’m going to add chunks, like minecraft, which may even lead to infinite maps.

 

And mobs? Well, so far, I’ve got turtles added. They wander around randomly, running into walls, acting stupid, but they’re a start towards bigger and better mobs.

So far the game spawns anywhere from 30-50 turtles, depending on map size, and later I’ll add some more mobs in to create more diversity among the wildlife.

The turtles’ positions are saved when saving the game, so when you load your game, your pet turtles will still be there (check out my little turtle house below :D)

I’m expecting this update to come out in maybe one or two days, depending on how fast new art can be done for new mobs.

Image

Leave a Reply

